Oregon ASLA 2016 Honor Award Winners Announced

Oregon ASLA is pleased to announce the winners of their 2016 Honor Awards. The awards celebrate the spirit of the landscape architecture profession in Oregon by recognizing people and organizations for their outstanding service to the profession, design excellence, community leadership and careful stewardship. The recipients will receive their awards at Oregon ASLA’s Annual Soiree on Friday, November 4, 2016.

“Oregon ASLA is excited to present our inaugural Honor Awards,” said Laurie Matthews, President of Oregon ASLA. “After a long tradition of an annual Design Awards program, we decided to shift our focus this year to recognizing the best in our profession and our community.”


Mayer/Reed, Inc. will receive the Outstanding Firm Award in recognition of major contributions to the profession for a sustained period. The 25-person, interdisciplinary design studio was established in Portland in 1986 and offers landscape architecture, urban design, wayfinding and interpretive design for projects throughout the Pacific Northwest and beyond. Known for their achievements in design excellence, Mayer/Reed’s commitment to sustainability, conservation, and protection of natural, historic and cultural landscapes has evolved with a high degree of creativity, service and quality of design. The firm’s values extend beyond the built environment to include community service and service to the profession, with employees generously donating their professional and personal expertise to a broad range of needs and activities, and a deep belief from principals and senior staff that supporting emerging professionals is a way to grow the future of the design professions.

Paul Agrimis, ASLA, will receive the Distinguished Practitioner Award in recognition of a career that has made a profound impact on the profession. Agrimis is Vice President and Landscape Architecture Program Leader at ESA in Portland, where he directs a team of 10 landscape architects and designers working on projects along the West Coast from Alaska to California. Drawing on his versatile background as a landscape architect, civil engineer and professional wetland scientist, Agrimis takes a multi-disciplinary approach to the planning and design of resilient natural systems and in creating enduring landscape solutions that engage both the heart and mind. His work has been recognized for planning and design excellence, including Cooper Mountain Nature Park and Minto-Brown Island Park Floodplain Restoration, and he has been active in community service throughout his 27-year career.

Deven Young, ASLA, will receive the Outstanding Emerging Professional Award. This award is given to an emerging professional in their first five years of practice that exceeds expectations and shows promise in making contributions to landscape architecture. Young is a senior designer at Alta Planning + Design, Inc. in Portland, where he is leading design on one of their largest trail projects. Young is known for his ability to build relationships with partners and clients. He is an outstanding and committed volunteer and recently served as the Vice President of Chapter Services for Oregon ASLA.

Elisabeth ‘Liksa’ Chan, Roxi Thoren, and Anne Godfrey, representing the faculty of Department of Landscape Architecture at the University of Oregon will receive the Lord & Schryver Award in recognition of their significant contributions to the achievement and recognition of women in landscape architecture. Chan served as department head for two terms, and during that time, secured a gift to create the Overlook Field School. Thoren led the Overlook Field School during its initial years and created an innovative program combining research, mentoring and artistic expression with a historic and living landscape. Godfrey revamped the media curriculum and wove its methods and teachings into design studios. Together, these three women faculty members have provided the highest level of leadership and mentoring to new generations of landscape architects and designers through their innovative teaching and research.

Friends of Trees will receive the Tom McCall Award to honor the Portland-based nonprofit’s outstanding community leadership and careful stewardship of Oregon’s natural environment. Founded in 1989 by Richard Seidman, Friends of Trees has since expanded their reach throughout the Metro region, down the Willamette Valley to Salem, Eugene and Springfield, and across the Columbia River to Vancouver, Washington. Through their Neighborhood Trees Program, their Green Space Program and their Gift Trees Program, they have supported the planting of over 600,000 trees and native plants in 2 states, 6 counties and 19 cities, including Beaverton, Damascus, Durham, Eugene, Forest Grove, Gresham, Happy Valley, Hillsboro, King City, Oregon City, Portland, Salem, Sherwood, Springfield, Tigard, Troutdale, Tualatin, Vancouver, and Wilsonville. Through over 25 years of leadership and community partnerships, Friends of Trees has made significant contributions to Oregon’s landscape.

In addition to the professional honor awards, Oregon ASLA will award Student Honor and Student Merit awards to four students majoring in landscape architecture at the University of Oregon. The awards recognize academic achievement, design competence, and interpersonal skills for both graduate and undergraduate students. Kelly Stoecklein, MLA, will receive the Graduate Honor Award and Elizabeth Stapleton, MLA, will receive the Graduate Merit Award. Casey Howard, BLA, will receive the Undergraduate Honor Award and Jane Jewett, BLA, will receive the Undergraduate Merit Award.

Oregon ASLA has also established the Olmsted Brothers Award to honor outstanding works of landscape architecture in Oregon that are 25 years or older and have withstood the test of time. The Oregon ASLA Executive Committee nominated five sites for this award and the winning site will be determined by a vote of the attendees at Oregon ASLA’s Annual Soiree. The five nominated sites are: the Columbia River Gorge Scenic Highway; the Halprin Open Space Sequence, Portland; Pioneer Courthouse Square, Portland; Portland Japanese Garden; and Salishan Lodge, Gleneden Beach.

Oregon ASLA will present the awards and celebrate the landscape architecture profession at their Annual Soiree on Friday, November 4, 2016 from 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm at Union/Pine at 525 SE Pine, Portland. Tickets may be purchased online at aslaoregon.org/events/design-awards/2016/