2018 Recognition Awards

Celebrate the spirit of the landscape architecture profession in Oregon by recognizing people and organizations for their outstanding service to the profession, design excellence, community leadership and careful stewardship.

Online nominations can be submitted by any member of ASLA Oregon. Awardees will be selected by the ASLA Oregon Executive Committee and announced in mid-October.

Deadline for all Recognition Award submissions: Friday, September 28, 2018 by 5:00pm.

Nominate people in the following categories:

Distinguished Practitioner Award :: Accepting Nominations
This award recognizes outstanding professionals in landscape architecture who have made a profound impact on the profession. Work recognized may include: design excellence, protection of our natural, historic or cultural landscapes, community service, supporting emerging professionals, diversity leadership and service to the profession. Nominees must be ASLA Oregon members who are currently not a member of the ASLA Council of Fellows.

Click HERE to submit a Distinguished Practitioner Award nomination.

Outstanding Emerging Professional Award :: Accepting Nominations
This award shall be given to an emerging professional in their first five years of practice that exceeds expectations and shows promise in making contributions to landscape architecture. Qualities that may be recognized include demonstrated leadership, design excellence, fluency with clients, and service to the profession. Nominees must be Emerging Professional members of ASLA Oregon.

Click HERE to submit a Outstanding Emerging Professional Award nomination.

Tom McCall Award :: Accepting Nominations
Oregon Governor Tom McCall left an indelible imprint on Oregon’s landscape during his tenure in office from 1967 to 1975. McCall provided political leadership that resulted in the Oregon’s innovative land use planning laws, protection of Oregon’s coastline with the Beach Bill and dedicated funding for bicycle and pedestrian facilities with the Bicycle Bill. With these laws, and others passed during his tenure, Governor McCall set the stage for Oregon to become a leader in the environmental movement that continues to guide us today.

In recognition of the legacy created by Governor McCall’s vision and values, ASLA Oregon has established this award to recognize the significant contributions of an individual, group, or organization, other than landscape architects, that has provided community leadership and careful stewardship of Oregon’s natural or built environment.

Click HERE to submit a Tom McCall Award nomination.

President’s Chapter Service Award :: Nominated by the President
This award shall be given to a member of ASLA Oregon to recognize outstanding volunteer service on behalf of the chapter and the profession. This award will be given at the discretion of the chapter president and the winner will remain secret until announced at the ASLA Oregon Annual Soiree.

Student Honor & Merit Awards :: Nominated by the University of Oregon
The Student Honor & Merit Awards recognize academic achievement, design competence, and interpersonal skills for both graduate and undergraduate students majoring in landscape architecture at the University of Oregon. Students nominated by the Department of Landscape Architecture each gave 20-minute presentations of their work to a jury of ASLA members earlier this year in April. ASLA Oregon will recognize this year’s winners, Flora Chen, Alexis Griffin, and Megan Little, at our Annual Soiree on Friday, November 2nd. Please join us in celebrating their achievements!